Bob Goodlatte Replies about Town Hall Meetings

Dear Mr. Gavaler:

Thank you for contacting my office to request a town hall meeting.  Your request has been received and will be reviewed.

Communication with Sixth District residents is the most important way I learn about the opinions of our friends and neighbors so that I can take their views to Washington.  I travel up and down the Sixth District frequently, listening to folks from every corner of the District.

I appreciate that you want to communicate with me, and I want you to know that even if I am unable to accommodate your specific request, that there are plenty of other avenues available for communication.  I hope you will take time to visit my website and sign up for my Telephone Town Hall Meetings and e-newsletters.  Telephone Town Hall Meetings provide me the opportunity to have live conference call style meetings with thousands of Virginians numerous times each year.  E-newsletters allow me the opportunity to keep you informed about what Congress is doing on a regular basis.

You are also welcome to email me through my website or call one of my offices to share your views on a federal issue or legislation.  If you need personal help with a federal agency, my office may be able to help.  Please contact one of my district offices to speak with a representative if you cannot get an answer from a federal agency in a timely manner or if you’ve been treated unfairly.  My staff also hosts regular office hours, called Open Door Meetings, in parts of the Sixth District where I do not have a permanent office location so that folks can get help in a manner more convenient to their homes.  The complete list of Open Door Meeting times and locations may be found on my website.

I appreciate your desire to stay in touch with me as the 115th Congress considers issues of importance to the United States.  Thank you for reaching out.

Sincerely,

Bob Goodlatte
Member of Congress

Author: Chris Gavaler

Chris Gavaler is an assistant professor of English at Washington and Lee University where he teaches creative writing, contemporary fiction, and comics. He has published two novels, Pretend I'm Not Here (HarperCollins 2002) and School For Tricksters (Southern Methodist University 2011), and two nonfictions, On the Origin of Superheroes (Iowa University 2015) and Superhero Comics (Bloomsbury forthcoming 2017).

1 thought on “Bob Goodlatte Replies about Town Hall Meetings”

  1. Dear Chris, thank you for your efforts. On Tuesday 3/7, 5 citizens attended Bobs’s Open Door, in Amherst at the 9am meeting. At the 11am session, 14 attended. Aaron Van Allen kept stressing that he does not speak for the Congressman, and could not comment on his position. Trying to get a meaningful response from our Representative is becoming a full-time, unpaid job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

