Bob Goodlatte replies about Donald Trump

Dear Mr. Gavaler:

Thank you for contacting me regarding your concerns about President-elect Donald Trump.  I appreciate hearing from you.

Donald Trump has been elected to serve as the 45th President of the United States and I hope his presidency will be successful for our country and the American people.  When he assumes office, he will have the power to execute the law under Article II of the Constitution.  Likewise, Congress will have the power to write the law under Article I of the Constitution, and the Supreme Court will have the power to review the constitutionality of statutes and presidential actions.  Our constitutional system of three co-equal branches of government and a Bill of Rights therefore prevent one branch from assuming too much authority without a challenge from the other branches of government.

You have my assurance that I will continue to uphold our Constitution and put the interests of the citizens of the 6th District of Virginia and the country as a whole above the interests of any individual or political party.  I look forward to working with my fellow Members of Congress and the President to achieve solutions to the challenges our country faces.

I appreciate you taking the time to contact me. I feel it is important to keep an open line of communication so I can best serve the interests of Virginia’s 6th District. I hope you will continue to be in touch as Congress debates issues of importance to the United States.

Sincerely,

Bob Goodlatte
Member of Congress

Author: Chris Gavaler

Chris Gavaler is an assistant professor of English at Washington and Lee University where he teaches creative writing, contemporary fiction, and comics. He has published two novels, Pretend I'm Not Here (HarperCollins 2002) and School For Tricksters (Southern Methodist University 2011), and two nonfictions, On the Origin of Superheroes (Iowa University 2015) and Superhero Comics (Bloomsbury forthcoming 2017).

Leave a Reply

