Email #32, Subject: automatic annual pay raise

Thank you so much for your response to my email from December 4th.  I am pleased to learn that there’s been no pay raise since 2009, and I also commend your personal decision to make donations equal to the pay raises you received prior. (But your phrasing confused me a little, since I couldn’t tell if your donations therefore were that much higher in total? If you use similar language elsewhere on the topic, do please clarify that, since it could be read as intentionally ambiguous.) I’m also glad to hear that you have fought to overturn the law which gives automatic annual pay adjustments. But since the GOP has been in control of both chambers of Congress, I don’t understand why this hasn’t happened then. I don’t recall President Obama ever veteoing such a bill. Are you fighting other Republicans on this issue? As Chair of the House Judiciary Committee, you certainly have a lot of clout. When should I expect the law to be overturned? How high is it on your list for legislation during this new session?

Chris Gavaler

Author: Chris Gavaler

Chris Gavaler is an assistant professor of English at Washington and Lee University where he teaches creative writing, contemporary fiction, and comics. He has published two novels, Pretend I'm Not Here (HarperCollins 2002) and School For Tricksters (Southern Methodist University 2011), and two nonfictions, On the Origin of Superheroes (Iowa University 2015) and Superhero Comics (Bloomsbury forthcoming 2017).

Leave a Reply

