Email #28, Subject: I am not a robot

I realize this is almost certainly a coincidence, but after I began emailing you daily, an “I am not a robot” check box appeared on your website contact form. I assume it’s to prevent mass auto-messages from inundating your inbox. But on the off-chance that you or one of your staff members has mistaken my writing as the political spam of some statewide or national organization, please understand that I am writing very specifically to you. The content of my emails is entirely my own. I have never been politically active before, but in light of the recent election I now need to get involved.  I know many others who feel the same.  For me, it starts with educating myself. Before this month, yours was a name I only knew vaguely, and I had no idea that our district was called the 6th or that it stretched from Roanoke to Harrisonburg. I certainly knew nothing about the Empowering Patients First bill and other legislation and concerns that you support. I will continue to educate myself and continue to write to you. I have also begun writing to our 6th district newspapers to share what I am learning, and a group of my Lexington friends and I have begun to meet to talk about increasing our political involvement. They too had only been vaguely aware of you before. That has changed. After my first week of emails, you sent me a letter about health care, one of the issues I raised. In the three weeks since, you have not responded. You website however still invites me to email you, and you even state: “I value all feedback from residents of my district.” Given your lack of response, that statement is difficult to believe.  I will however continue to write and take on faith that you are speaking truthfully. November 2018 is a long way off.  Expect a lot of feedback.

Chris Gavaler

Author: Chris Gavaler

Chris Gavaler is an assistant professor of English at Washington and Lee University where he teaches creative writing, contemporary fiction, and comics. He has published two novels, Pretend I'm Not Here (HarperCollins 2002) and School For Tricksters (Southern Methodist University 2011), and two nonfictions, On the Origin of Superheroes (Iowa University 2015) and Superhero Comics (Bloomsbury forthcoming 2017).

Leave a Reply

